You’ve headed out in your boat to enjoy Utah’s lakes and reservoirs but the unthinkable has happened; you’ve had an accident. The obvious question is what to do when an accident occurs.
Utah law requires that every boating accident be reported appropriately. But submitting the proper documentation of the accident is not the only requirement. A checklist of what to do is provided by Utah State Parks on its website. The checklist is:
- Help other people involved in the accident
- Notify local law enforcement officers immediately, by the quickest means of communication available if anyone dies, disappears, requires treatment beyond basic first aid, or if combined property damage exceeds $2,000.
- Give your name, address and identification to any injured person or owner of property that is damaged in the accident.
- Submit a completed and signed boating accident report to Utah State Parks and Recreation within 10 days. You are required to submit an accident report even if a State Park Ranger or other law enforcement officer investigates your accident.
Beware that the website checklist and the required accident report contain conflicting information. The checklist suggests that there is a 10 day window to submit the report for all accidents, but the report states that submission is required within 48 hours if there is an injury, disappearance or death resulting from the accident.
Be safe out there but if there is an accident, know what to do.
Bret Hanna of Wrona DuBois in Utah, focuses exclusively on litigating plaintiffs’ medical malpractice and catastrophic personal injury cases. He has represented clients in state and federal courts, in mediations, and in administrative proceedings in Michigan and Utah since 1991.